REVIEWS

5 star rating Great fishing, great people My husband, two kids aged twelve and eleven, and I went out for a half day fishing the jetties. We ended the day with 23 fish total, including a flounder and a sheepshead, many Spanish mackerel and trout. And that's just the keepers... a small shark, stingray, and some smaller mackerel got thrown back! But the process is what makes my rating excellent. We went out with Captain Ernest and his son Beau. Both were immensely helpful and patient (my daughter and I were pretty unteachable with setting the hook). Ernest's pride and excitement over all of our catches was infectious and brought smiles to everyone's faces. A storm was rolling in late morning while we were out, and Ernest was monitoring the progress of the storm to make sure he kept us safe (though he did let us know we would get wet -- we did), and was very reassuring and calm regarding the weather. We dried out and fished longer, then returned to the yacht basin as scheduled. Ernest did a great job of explaining the best way to prepare each type of fish while cleaning them, and that night I felt like a chef using his instruction. A truly excellent day, highly recommend it!

Andrea O. 7/24/2014

Capt Ernest took me and the guys out for my bachelor party. We had a great time as Capt Ernest took all of the variables of fishing out of the equation. We caught some huge reds that put up a heck of a fight all the while Capt Ernest was there to serve our every need. To have such a 5 star experience with local guides who are passionate about what they do for an affordable price like Fishing Galveston TX offers, is quite frankly, extraordinary. Fishing should be much more than just catching fish, it should be an opportunity to share the zeal for life and the passion for outdoors with your friends and family. FGTX offers that once in a lifetime opportunity to make memories.

Brandon N. 5/24/2014

5 star rating Always a blast! This was my 2nd fishing trip with this company. Always so much fun! The crew is helpful & knowledge. They go above & beyond to make sure you & your group have a great time. Plus, they clean & bag your fish at the end of the trip.

MXMOM_3 6/16/2017

5 star rating Always a blast! This was my 2nd fishing trip with this company. Always so much fun! The crew is helpful & knowledge. They go above & beyond to make sure you & your group have a great time. Plus, they clean & bag your fish at the end of the trip.

Melark0518 6/16/2017

I browsed through endless listings for Fishing charters in Galveston, but I only decided on one after I called up Captain Greg here. Greg is a great guy that cares about giving you a good time, while also protecting the environment from which he makes a living. Greg, and his deckhand Kyle, gave my friend and I an experience we won't soon forget - the sail out to our spot alone, as the sun was rising, was worth the trip. On top of that, we hooked more than 20 fish between the two of us in just 4 hours - due, no doubt, to a combination of Greg's knowledge of the area, and some good old luck. We bagged a few - some of which made for great fish tacos on the grill that night. In all I would very warmly recommend Fishing Galveston TX - I will be back to experience some flounder gigging with the captain in the near future. If you are in doubt, like I was, just give the captain a call. You'll know you are in the right place.

Morten W. 5/24/2015

5 star rating Awesome fishing We had a great time fishing with Captain Greg and his son. He will put you on the fish. We will be back in the fall for another fishing trip for sure.

Forest H. 6/28/2014

5 star rating "My Big Brother's Tribute!" Captain Greg and Dominic gave my girlfriend, her daughter, myself and two of my brothers closest friends a memorable trip to say the least. We caught shark, limited out on Red Snapper, Kingfish and caught Cobia as well.
Greg knows how to put you on the fish and keep you on the fish! Dominic was a great deck hand and I would highly recommend this duo in a heartbeat. After limiting out and having a great day on the water we were scheduled to flounder gig the next evening but conditions were not optimum as Greg explained and left the choice up to us.
I have seen many guides and outfitters that would have just taken you out and taken your money!
Thank you for all your hard work and honesty Greg as you made my brothers ceremonial trip at sea a family memory that will always be truly cherished!
Thank you and god bless… John Brown

John B. 6/28/2014

Had a great time with Captain Ernesto, took us to great fishing areas. He was great with our kids.

Jaime T. 5/24/2018

5 star rating WONDERFUL TIME FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY!! My parents, husband and our two boys all went out of the jetty trip and absolutely LOVED it!! It was a very memorable trip!! They were very interactive and so helpful with casting the lines (if that is the correct wording), putting bait on the hooks and reeling the fish in. I cannot compliment or thank them enough for making it such a wonderful trip!!
Side note.....being a girl, I absolutely loved that they have an option for a boat with a toilet. That is a very nice perk!

Christie_Holzer 7/15/2016

My friends and I had our mommies trip with Capt Greg, we had the best time with a wonderful Capt. He put us on some great catches and was very patient with all of us. This was our first time out and we are ready for our next mom's fishing trip. I have recommended him to everyone, cant wait to get back out there.Liz Burke

lz b. 5/24/2014

Haven't experienced it yet but have read lots of amazing reviews we are going in July and me and my husband cant wait and the captain I spoke with yesterday to book our trip was very nice and very helpful even when I bugged him 3 times in one day😁

Alisha K. 6/01/2018

5 star rating Great family fishing fun! My family with 3 kids (ages 16, 11, & 4) recently had a half day charter. They had a blast! Captain Greg & his helper, Dominic were so nice & helpful. We're ready to do it again!! You won't be disappointed.

MXMOM_3 3/29/2014

5 star rating Mind blowing Went out on a flounder gigging trip. Captain greg put us on some nice flounders with in minutes. Limited out with in 40 mins. When the flounder are there they are thick. Captain greg knows where they will be and will put you on them.

RcM87s 2/06/2014

5 star rating The Big Catch Captain Greg Verm was fantastic. He not only found the right fishing spots, he made the trip so much fun. He has a great personality and knows how to make your fishing trip a success. We not only caught our limit but brought in several large ones that caused us all to complain of muscle soreness. I would highly recommend Greg for your next Galveston fishing trip.

gregleffler 3/19/2014

5 star rating Catching Trout and hitting limits We decided to take a quick fishing day trip with Fishing Galveston and had a fun and successful day on the water. Capt. Clint was a heck of a guide and put us on the trout in no time. We hit our limit in 3-4 hours and enjoyed every minute. The service was excellent and is a great opportunity for anyone from novice to expert looking to fish the Galveston waters. All you have to do is show up and they will take care of the rest. Thanks again for a great day!

HLH4 8/10/2016

Great day of fishing with Captain Greg and Hunter. Caught our limit on Red Snapper even with a little rough water. If you want someone who knows their stuff AND is conscientious and caring about kids, people fishing this is THE guy! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!

Rick B. 7/24/2018

5 star rating Terrific We had a great time. Capt. Greg Jr. was helpful and friendly - he worked tirelessly. He’s a great guy - smart and fun. We’ll be back for another t

Brady L. 6/01/2021

5 star rating I booked a trip for Thursday, but the weather was bad, so the trip was cancelled. The Verm's worked with me, and got us out the next morning. We left from a fishing camp on the bayou near Santa Fe, so the trip out to the Gulf was actually interesting. Greg Jr. was our captain, and he definitely put us on the fish - Black Drum, Sheep's Head, speckled trout, red fish - a lot of action. Had we been taking fish home, we would have filled a cooler. Greg Jr. knows his trade, he's respectful and professional. Good kid from a good family.

If you have kids, the bay/jetty trip is a lot of fun. Lots of fish, calm water, even a few alligators.

Bob G. 8/07/2021

5 star rating Fishing with Rod Bending Charters 409-599-0909 Had a wonderful time with Jason and his crew. Very comfortable boat and modern equipment.
Caught a lot of fish( Snapper and Kingfish) during both offshore trip and(Speckled trout, Redfish, and flounder)inshore trip. I would recommend his charter to anyone wanting a fun trip.
I'll be back.
Thanks,
Stephen G

sgee4862 1/31/2017

5 star rating Excellent Father-Son day fishing! I booked a trip for Thursday, but the weather was bad, so the trip was cancelled. The Verm's worked with me, and got us out the next morning. We left from a fishing camp on the bayou near Santa Fe, so the trip out to the Gulf was actually interesting. Greg Jr. was our captain, and he definitely put us on the fish - Black Drum, Sheep's Head, speckled trout, red fish - a lot of action. Had we been taking fish home, we would have filled a cooler. Greg Jr. knows his trade, he's respectful and professional. Good kid from a good family. If you have kids, the bay/jetty trip is a lot of fun. Lots of fish, calm water, even a few alligators.

Bob G. 8/01/2021

5 star rating AAAAA+++++ # 1 in charter business I have been fishing with Capt Greg for many years. He and crew go way beyond the normal to make a great trip. Probably caught some of my best fish with him. From getting live bait to lodging and accommodations they are first class. Cannot wait til my next trip. 5 stars all way around. His new deckhand id awesome. All I can say he is really really good at his job and cool guy to talk with too. Total package with the whole group og captains. Been with all and all are AAAAA++++++ thanks for everything, Capt Woody Woodward Pres. Snapper Slapper Lures

Keith W. 7/01/2020

5 star rating Great birthday present for a little boy I took my little boy on a fishing trip this past weekend, and I was so impressed with what a good job Capt. Greg, Jr., did at making my son feel at home in the boat. In my experience, all too many guides of various kinds--hunting, fishing, etc.--think they're the reincarnation of Grits Gresham or act like they think they ought to have their own tv shows. As a result, they tend to be abrupt, impatient or, at best, condescending. Not so with this young man. He couldn't have been more polite or better at showing us a good time. I would recommend him wholeheartedly. We'll fish with him again, I hope. More

Phillip S. 4/23/2019

5 star rating Best Charter in Galveston! We have used Fishing Galveston TX a number of times, and we always have a great time and catch allot of fish. All of the captains are great with our family, and the kids have a great time every trip. Top of the line boats, equipment, and professional Captains that have a vast knowledge of the Galveston waters. We learned a long time ago you get what you pay for, and with Captain Greg and his team of guides, we get the best and always show up to the dock with the most fish!

884CharlD 2/07/2014

5 star rating Great fishing trip with the family! Outstanding time with Captain Ernest. First, they could have taken us out for 30 minutes and called it a day due to weather, but elected to give us the option of just trying another day. That’s the right way to do business. Went the next day and had a blast. Caught the limit! The Captain was very engaging and helpful with all, very energetic and aware. He cleaned the fish and not a bone was found at dinner that night. Just a great time! Thank you, Captain!

E2459TMbm 6/27/2020