REVIEWS

For few years now, me and my sons have been using Greg and Clint Verm as our fishing guides, and every single experience has been awesome.....we have not only caught a ton of fish, but they both really work with the kids and instruct them so that they learn something each trip! I've never been much of a fisherman, but these guys made me look good! We recently did our first gigging trip, and we had the absolute best time......my boys have talked n talked n talked about it, and we are ready for the next adventure!! Thanks Greg and Clint for always showing us a good time on the water!!

Bryan H. 5/24/2015

5 star rating Had a phenomenal experience with Captain Greg and deck hand Kyle.  These guys are awesome.  We caught the limit of Snapper and close to the limit of King Fish.  Had a blast    Out of all the charters and guides I have experienced, these guys were the best!

John C. 6/01/2015

5 star rating Great Fishing Trip! We - Me, My Wife, and twin 14-Year-Old Boys (novice fishermen) - recently took a 5hr fishing trip with Greg Jr out of their Freeport Location. The day was quite windy and Greg did a great job of keeping us informed and trying to find the best launch point for us. He settled on the Freeport location and we started the day with low expectations for the amount of fish we were going to catch. However, Greg moved us around until we found some great spots. Everyone caught a bunch of fish and we left completing a "Texas Slam" - Trout, Redfish, and Flounder (and a crab too!). Great experience - we would all highly recommend this. More

Allen8994 4/16/2018

Awesome time! Ask for Captain Greg! He will take care of you!

Ronald Z. 5/24/2018

5 star rating Rod Bending Charters chartered a trip with Capt Jason Woods & Rod Bending Charters for myself, my wife, and 10 yr old son. We couldn't be happier with the trip or the results. It was my wife/son's 1st time saltwater fishing on open water & they loved it largely in part to the service. They kept the mood light & joked around to our entertainment. Both Capt Jason & his asst "T" were super and very patient with us non-pros. They both worked extremely hard to find the fish & even harden when they were hitting. They did remarkable job of keep up with baiting / rigging our 3 lines with nonstop Red Snapper & sharks hitting. Literally constant cycle of baiting rigging moving boat & unhooking fish. Unlike some charters they don't waste 1 minute waiting around for fish that arnt there. They hit the spots & move on quickly if fish are not there. They also did a good job of quickly adjusting to recently changed conditions in water due to Tropical Storm Bill just a few days before. This totally changed the routine but he worked with us to customize our plans to be sure we had success. Limited out on nice snappers just b4 the short season closes. Tons of shark action that made us want to do a shark hunt another time. Jason even contacted us in advance to tell us about the curve ball TS Bill threw. It's easy to forget that not all charters run so user friendly & smooth. We'll remember this trip forever & hopefully do another one soon

SAtravelernow 6/25/2015

5 star rating Great day spring break fishing! My son had a great time fishing for black drum and bull red over spring break. He ended up catching a good sized red and decided to get it done as a trophy fish. The captain was great and made sure the trip was a success. I hope to book another trip it was a great experience.

egkansas 3/24/2016

Great day on the water with Fishing Galveston and Capt. Greg. You can tell they know what they're doing. We won't use another guide service in the area. Thanks for a memorable trip.

Jonathan T. 3/19/2018

5 star rating "My Big Brother's Tribute!" Captain Greg and Dominic gave my girlfriend, her daughter, myself and two of my brothers closest friends a memorable trip to say the least. We caught shark, limited out on Red Snapper, Kingfish and caught Cobia as well.

Greg knows how to put you on the fish and keep you on the fish! Dominic was a great deck hand and I would highly recommend this duo in a heartbeat. After limiting out and having a great day on the water we were scheduled to flounder gig the next evening but conditions were not optimum as Greg explained and left the choice up to us.

I have seen many guides and outfitters that would have just taken you out and taken your money!

Thank you for all your hard work and honesty Greg as you made my brothers ceremonial trip at sea a family memory that will always be truly cherished!

Thank you and god bless… John Brown

John B. 6/28/2014

5 star rating Kapt. Keepers We were looking forward to going out on a party boat, however, being the off season, we found out they were only going out on the weekends. We got a card for Kapt. Keepers and chartered a short trip and had one of our BEST fishing trips to date. Highly recommend.

joe j. 11/23/2014

5 star rating Great birthday present for a little boy I took my little boy on a fishing trip this past weekend, and I was so impressed with what a good job Capt. Greg, Jr., did at making my son feel at home in the boat. In my experience, all too many guides of various kinds--hunting, fishing, etc.--think they're the reincarnation of Grits Gresham or act like they think they ought to have their own tv shows. As a result, they tend to be abrupt, impatient or, at best, condescending. Not so with this young man. He couldn't have been more polite or better at showing us a good time. I would recommend him wholeheartedly. We'll fish with him again, I hope. More

Phillip S. 4/23/2019

Brandy P. 5/24/2018

5 star rating Always a blast! This was my 2nd fishing trip with this company. Always so much fun! The crew is helpful & knowledge. They go above & beyond to make sure you & your group have a great time. Plus, they clean & bag your fish at the end of the trip.

MXMOM_3 6/16/2017

5 star rating We used Fishing Galveston today to take our teen-aged boys out for bay/jetty fishing.  We had Capt. Dominic and Gregory.  They were great. Our sons had a blast.  They caught drum, sheephead, speckled trout and Spanish mackerel.  No redfish though.  Then they started catching sharks!  Caught one spinner and two or three black tip sharks, one of which was 5-6 ' long.   They got such a charge out of catching sharks.  Then of course Dominic cleaned and bagged the fish for us (the best part from my view).  All in all, a great day that my sons are already asking to repeat.

Debbie G. 6/11/2015

Haven't experienced it yet but have read lots of amazing reviews we are going in July and me and my husband cant wait and the captain I spoke with yesterday to book our trip was very nice and very helpful even when I bugged him 3 times in one day😁

Alisha K. 6/01/2018

Haven't experienced it yet but have read lots of amazing reviews we are going in July and me and my husband cant wait and the captain I spoke with yesterday to book our trip was very nice and very helpful even when I bugged him 3 times in one day😁

Alisha K. 6/24/2018

5 star rating Catching You can go fishing or you can go catching. Capt. Greg knows these waters and he knows where the fish are. When we dropped our first line it was fish on until we got our limit. Top notch outfit. Can't wait to back on the water with them.

rmart357 7/02/2016

5 star rating Great first experience of fishing Being a complete novice at fishing I was a little unsure as to what to expect but Captain Greg soon put me at ease. We started with a wonderful ride out to the bay with Captain Greg explaining points of interest. Once set up we were soon reeling in fish. It was a lovely relaxing afternoon with some great tuition and I'd highly recommend this company to both novices and the experienced fisherman / woman.

Rachel H. 4/29/2016

5 star rating Awesome fishing We had a great time fishing with Captain Greg and his son. He will put you on the fish. We will be back in the fall for another fishing trip for sure.

Forest H. 6/28/2014

Great day of fishing with Captain Greg and Hunter. Caught our limit on Red Snapper even with a little rough water. If you want someone who knows their stuff AND is conscientious and caring about kids, people fishing this is THE guy! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!

Rick B. 7/24/2018

Great day on the water with Fishing Galveston and Capt. Greg. You can tell they know what they're doing. We won't use another guide service in the area. Thanks for a memorable trip.

Jonathan T. 5/24/2018

Capt Ernest took me and the guys out for my bachelor party. We had a great time as Capt Ernest took all of the variables of fishing out of the equation. We caught some huge reds that put up a heck of a fight all the while Capt Ernest was there to serve our every need. To have such a 5 star experience with local guides who are passionate about what they do for an affordable price like Fishing Galveston TX offers, is quite frankly, extraordinary. Fishing should be much more than just catching fish, it should be an opportunity to share the zeal for life and the passion for outdoors with your friends and family. FGTX offers that once in a lifetime opportunity to make memories.

Brandon N. 5/24/2014

5 star rating Great fishing, great people My husband, two kids aged twelve and eleven, and I went out for a half day fishing the jetties. We ended the day with 23 fish total, including a flounder and a sheepshead, many Spanish mackerel and trout. And that's just the keepers... a small shark, stingray, and some smaller mackerel got thrown back! But the process is what makes my rating excellent. We went out with Captain Ernest and his son Beau. Both were immensely helpful and patient (my daughter and I were pretty unteachable with setting the hook). Ernest's pride and excitement over all of our catches was infectious and brought smiles to everyone's faces. A storm was rolling in late morning while we were out, and Ernest was monitoring the progress of the storm to make sure he kept us safe (though he did let us know we would get wet -- we did), and was very reassuring and calm regarding the weather. We dried out and fished longer, then returned to the yacht basin as scheduled. Ernest did a great job of explaining the best way to prepare each type of fish while cleaning them, and that night I felt like a chef using his instruction. A truly excellent day, highly recommend it!

Andrea O. 7/24/2014

5 star rating ReelMen Fishing Charters- Great Experience Great day of Flounder and Red fishing! good service and kind staff.... We fished the grasses off the "restaurant" and the bridge pilings later on. Missed out on the "big one" but had a great time.

Oppytown 10/02/2018

5 star rating WONDERFUL TIME FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY!! My parents, husband and our two boys all went out of the jetty trip and absolutely LOVED it!! It was a very memorable trip!! They were very interactive and so helpful with casting the lines (if that is the correct wording), putting bait on the hooks and reeling the fish in. I cannot compliment or thank them enough for making it such a wonderful trip!!

Side note.....being a girl, I absolutely loved that they have an option for a boat with a toilet. That is a very nice perk!

Christie_Holzer 7/15/2016